Museum Tour

The Official Blue Heritage Plaque at the Museum.
The Official Blue Heritage Plaque

Visitors often ask whether Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson really lived in the house, but unfortunately no official records of the lodgers who lived here in Victorian times exist. Local authority records do state that the house was registered as a lodging house between 1860-1934, and that the maids who worked in it were related to a Mr Holmes. A Doctor Watson also lived next door in the 1890's, as an ‘artificial teeth manufacturer’.

The published stories however contain all the relevant facts about the house and the lives of Mr Holmes and Doctor Watson which visitors can explore for themselves by visiting the Museum

Go Back Continue Tour